Thursday, January 29, 2009

Fun in the snow?

I last wrote about how great it was to be out in the snow at dusk. Lo and behold, that night it started to snow. It was a great snow!! I went out at dusk and walked through the fields and absorbed the beauty. I went over to check on my horses and rrrrrrrrrrrriiiiippppppp (record stops). They had ball of ice and snow packed in their hooves so they were like they were walking on stilts. I grabbed the hoof pick and went to work. Two of them seemed to understand that I was trying to help and calmly lifted their feet. The ice and mud was so hard I had to chisel at it. Breathing heavily after one horse, I went to tackle the second. Managed with increased labored breathing to take care of that one. The third one tried to bite me when I went for its hoof. I said "f--- it" join the circus if you want to walk on stilts. Then I got the rest of the animals bedded down. I noticed the water trough was almost empty. It lasted two days and should have lasted five. What do I have horses or camels? Brought the dogs inside and drank a bunch of wine while I watched it snow.

The next morning, I got up and again had my Hallmark moment at 7:00 AM and went around taking pictures while it was still pretty and untouched. However, that soon ended. Had to feed the horses which were banging their buckets quite loudly, put the dogs out and feed and water them. Little dog ran around in the snow like it was on meth. I've never seen it with so much energy even though you could only see its nose at times. Shoveled the walks at my mother's house and mine. Had major heart failure and needed the paddles. Then I started working on filling up the water tank. I had tried to drain the hose before it got cold but the last six inches was ice packed so I had to stick it in a pan of hot water. Finally got water to come out and it gushed much more forcefully than usual. (What was that all about?) Didn't look gift horse in the mouth. I then needed new wiper blades for my car because there were pieces of rubber flapping the night before. Naturally I went to the mechanic at 12:15 and all of the guys were out for lunch except of course the guy that was sleeping on the couch who didn't give a shit that I needed new wipers. I had to kill time for 45 minutes till "the guys" got back. Finally got home at about 2:00. I was so exhausted that I crashed on the couch.

Today I am stiff and sore and think maybe I might die. The point is it bites to get old. Snow always used to mean sledding and ice skating and snow ball fights. Now it is chores and heart attacks. Don't get me wrong, I still love it but why can't the ten year olds do all of the chores and leave the fun for us. They have the energy and stamina. Once again youth is wasted on the young.

No comments:

Post a Comment